Weekly Photo Challenge: “Silhouette”

This week’s Photo Challenge is SILHOUETTE. “The proper definition of a silhouette is ‘the outline of a body viewed as circumscribing a mass.’ In photography, often we achieve that effect by putting light behind the object whose silhouette we want to capture, effectively darkening out the features of the subject instead of highlighting them.”

I wish I could say I took these shots in silhouette on purpose, but… don’t think I did, but fit the theme of the challenge. Isn’t that great how that turns out to happen.

This first photo was from my backyard. I enjoy taking shots and documenting all the growth, changes and simple beauty. The sun shining through the fronds of the palm leaves, reminds me of the “new hope” we have present with the brightness (whether internal or external) of each new day.

It makes me smile just see this! I hope it does you too 🙂

Inside the house a beautiful array of dancing flowers: tulips. I enjoyed learning the fact that they “dance in the vase.” It is said that tulips continue to grow even after being cut. They are in constant search for the source of light so they move, stretch, bob and grow. Their blossoms open in the day and close at night.

They constantly asking the question, “Shall we Dance?”

One of my many favorite places to steal away for quiet moments are the Lagoons at Ko’Olina on Oahu. What beautiful sunsets can be captured there. Day, evening or night, that’s such a nice place to be.

So there you have it, silhouettes…I just realized mine just happened to all be from nature. Guess, that’s just where my heart is. Hope you enjoy the look see. I had fun finding the photos in my collection.

Meet each new day with a heart wide open for new possibilities!!

Blessings of Great Peace, Kulia…

Come, join the fun check it out at http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/weekly-photo-challenge-silhouette/

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: “Silhouette”

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette | Marsha Lee

Leave a Reply

