All in a Row…

 

 
Yes, that’s how I like it…all in a row. Everything nice, neat and in order. I like it that way, but often times things in my life aren’t so cooperative. I like having the details planned out and all things accounted for. Planning for what is expected to happen and troubleshooting what may go wrong. Knowing A to Z. No Surprises or mishaps. Order. Control.

No, that’s not reality. Nothing has a perfect plan. No matter how much we try, nothing is entirely without flaw or element of the unexpected or the unintended.

Anyway, it would not do us any good in the long run. If everything was fail proof we wouldn’t grow, develop, discover, uncover. We wouldn’t expand or create. We wouldn’t know what is inside of us. Sometimes it is the unexpected, the unrehearsed, the thing that you would have never thought of happening, popping or showing up that gives us the most “stretch” and experience.

Yes, I have to remind myself. I can’t have complete order of everything. I need to plan for what I can and then just go with the flow for the rest.

Order is good, but it can be boring depending on what it relates to. Diversity and change can be a welcomed element at the end of a thing if not sometimes at the beginning.

I can think of countless times of things not happening the way I set out for them to and in the end it worked out for the better. From the simplest act of missing a turn while driving only to find there was an accident on the route I would have gone. If I hadn’t misplaced my keys and left later than usual I would have been stuck in traffic. Another instance was if things worked out where I moved to the states last year, I would have missed an opportunity to travel to the Philippines on a short term medical mission trip earlier this year. It was a matter of being in the right place for opportunity at the right time. Well, now I’m back in the states where I started out a year ago. This time with many wonderful experiences behind me.

So no, life doesn’t have everything laid out neatly all in a row. But do we really want it that way?

What interruptions in your life (big or small) have taken place only to find later that it was actually a blessing in disguise?

As I look and live ahead I must keep in mind that “all things work together for good…” Romans 8:28

2 thoughts on “All in a Row…

    • Oh, I know the place: the Ali’i Lavender Farm in Kula on Maui!! That is one of my favorite places to visit. It was the first Lavender Farm I had ever gone to and I enjoyed it immensely. Rows of lavender and many other flowers too. Not to mention their gift store with all type of lavender products. I’ve been back several times. The farm in the photo here is from Lavender Haze in Washington. It is a beautiful place too, but I think there is something about the very first place you visit when a connection is made. I’m glad you mentioned it. I appreciate the memories! Thanks for stopping by and brightening my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

